Advertisement

Viewing all articles

Itbjcs

April Jack Covert Selects

By Jack, published April 27, 2004, at 5:33 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

As I said in my review "Im sure Death by Meeting will enjoy long-term success, especially since Patrick Lencioni is so good at writing fables; they stick in your brain and you end up learning a lot of useful information. " I also reviewed a book called Unstuck. As I said "Some people have had issues with business books not being prescriptive enough.

Newopinion

Signed business books

By Jack, published April 27, 2004, at 5:10 PM – Filed under: Publishing Industry

Lawrence Block has been writing books forever. He has won everything a mystery writer can win. Edgar's et.

Itbjcs

Next HUGE Historical Bio

By Jack, published April 26, 2004, at 9:42 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

In the vein of John Adams and Titan, Ron Chernow has just published Alexander Hamilton. As America's first treasury secretary, Hamilton forged America's tax and budget systems, Custom Service, Coast Guard and the central bank. After spending a rainy weekend reading the book, it is as good as Titan.

Newopinion

Recommends from Around

By 800-CEO-READ, published April 26, 2004, at 3:35 PM – Filed under: Current Events & Public Affairs

Here are some recommendations and reviews from around the blogsphere: Curt Rosengren at Passion Catalyst starts reading Roadtrip Nation. Barry Ritholtz at The Big Picture runs down a list of books for those interested in economics and capital markets. Some of his picks include Jack Schwager's Market Wizards and New Markets Wizards, Todd Buchholz's New Ideas from Dead Economists, and Robert Prechter's Prechter's Perspectives.

Newopinion

Strategy+Business' Best Business Books of 2003

By 800-CEO-READ, published April 26, 2004, at 2:16 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

I know it is almost May and it might be a little late to talk about the best of 2003. Think of it as a way to check and see if you missed anything. Our first list comes from strategy+business via NPR.

Newopinion

John Byrne's Reviews

By 800-CEO-READ, published April 26, 2004, at 2:00 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

I really enjoy the book reviews by Fast Company's John Byrne. You'll see him posting them from time to time on the FC Now blog. The first recommendation I came across was Fierce Conversations by Susan Scott.

Newopinion

Searching for Books

By 800-CEO-READ, published April 26, 2004, at 1:45 PM – Filed under: Publishing Industry

Angie McKaig has some problems with the Amazon search engine. Angie contends that while Amazon's Search in Book has added functionality, but makes the results less relevant. Our search engine is far from perfect.

Newopinion

The Epidemiography of the Page 23 Meme

By Jack, published April 25, 2004, at 8:44 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

Laughing Meme has researched the origins of the Page 23 Meme, that many were recently infected with. [via JimCarson.

Newopinion

800-CEO-READ Bestsellers 2003

By 800-CEO-READ, published April 23, 2004, at 8:02 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

Now that the blog is officially up and running, lets have a look at 800-CEO-READs Top 15 for 2003: 1. Purple Cow by Seth Godin, Portfolio. 2.

Newopinion

What is up with HBR?

By Jack, published April 23, 2004, at 7:20 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

David Batstone, of Saving the Corporate Soul, has written an great entry about the latest Harvard Business Review on the Worthwhile blog.

Newopinion

Business Gurus

By Jack, published April 23, 2004, at 4:17 PM – Filed under: Management & Workplace Culture

Workforce Management magazine has an interesting piece about those people that have helped cause many of the changes in our workplace and worklife. The piece is called Gurus The featured players are Covey, Peters, Hamel. "Management gurus have become the rock stars of the business world, complete with entourages of support staff and private jets.

Newopinion

Latest attempt at changing books

By Jack, published April 22, 2004, at 4:51 PM – Filed under: Publishing Industry

Looks like Sony has another product might replace books. Here's what The Guardian thinks. Todd talked about it last week and here is an actual review.